STATE POLICE SERVICE
LOUISIANA CONSTITUTION OF 1974, ARTICLE X: PART IV §$41 -§51

§41. State Police Service

Section 41. (A) Service Established. The state police service is
established and includes all regularly commissioned full-time
law enforcement officers employed by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, office of state police, or its
successor, who are graduates of the state police training
academy course of instruction and are vested with full state
police powers, as provided by law, and persons in training to
become such officers.

(B) Implementation. The provisions of this Part IV shall become
effective on January 1, 1991; however, prior to that date
members of the State Police Commission shall be selected and
take office and shall adopt rules and take actions necessary to
implement this Part on January 1, 1991.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991.

§42. Classified and Unclassified Service

Section 42.(A) Classified Service. The state police service is
divided into the unclassified and the classified service.
Persons not included in the unclassified service are in the
classified service.

(B) Unclassified Service. The State Police Commission shall
determine those positions which shall be in the unclassified
service and may provide that any such position shall become
classified.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991.

§43. State Police Commission

Section 43. (A) Composition. The State Police Commission is
established and shall be domiciled in the state capital. It
shall be composed of seven members who are electors of this
state, four of whom shall constitute a quorum. At least one
appointed member shall be from each congressional district. No
appointed member shall concurrently serve on another board or
commission whose purpose 1s similar to that of the State Police
Commission. In order to implement this requirement, every ten
years beginning on the day the members of congress from newly
reapportioned congressional districts take office, any vacancy
that occurs on the commission shall be filled from a
congressional district from which there is no commission member.
Only when the membership includes a member from each
congressional district may a vacancy be filled by an appointment
from the state at large.



(B) (1) Appointment. The members shall be selected, as
hereinafter provided, for terms of six years, after initial
terms of one year, two years, three years, four years, five
years, and six years for the appointed members, as designated by
the governor, and six years for the elected member.

(2) No person who has served as a member of the commission for
more than two and one-half terms in three consecutive terms
shall be appointed or elected to the commission for the
succeeding term. This Subparagraph shall not apply to any person
appointed or elected to the commission prior to the effective
date of this Subparagraph, except that it shall apply to any
term of service of any such person that begins after such date.

(C) Nominations. The presidents of Centenary College at
Shreveport, Dillard University at New Orleans, Louisiana College
at Pineville, Loyola University at New Orleans, Tulane
University of Louisiana at New Orleans, and Xavier University at
New Orleans, after giving consideration to representation of all
groups, each shall nominate three persons. The governor shall
appoint one member of the commission from the three persons
nominated by each president. One member of the commission shall
be elected by the classified state police officers of the state
from their number as provided by law. A vacancy for any cause
shall be filled by appointment or election in accordance with
the procedure or law governing the original appointment or
election, and from the same source. Within thirty days after a
vacancy occurs, the president concerned shall submit the
required nominations. Within thirty days thereafter, the
governor shall make his appointment. If the governor fails to
appoint within thirty days, the nominee whose name is first on
the list of nominees automatically shall become a member of the
commission. If any nominating authority fails to submit nominees
in the time required, or if one of the named institutions ceases
to exist, the governor shall make the appointment to the
commission.

(D) Removal. An appointed member of the commission may be
removed by the governor for cause after being served with
written specifications of the charges against him and being
afforded an opportunity for a public hearing thereon by the
governor.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991,; Acts 2008, No. 935, §1, eff. approved November 4,
2008, eff. December 8, 2008, Acts 2012, No. 870, §2, approved
November 6, 2012, effective December 10, 2012.

§44. Director

Section 44. The commission shall appoint a director and such
personnel as shall be necessary to carry out its duties.



Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $§1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991.

§45. Appointments; Promotions

Section 45. Permanent appointments and promotions in the
classified state police service shall be made only after
certification by the director under a general system based upon
merit, efficiency, fitness, and length of service, as
ascertained by examination which, so far as practical, shall be
competitive. The number to be certified shall not be less than
three; however, if more than one vacancy is to be filled, the
name of one additional person eligible for each vacancy may be
certified. The commission shall adopt rules for the method of
certifying persons eligible for appointment, promotion,
reemployment, and reinstatement and shall provide for
appointments defined as emergency and temporary appointments if
certification is not required.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991.

§46. Appeals

Section 46.(A) Disciplinary Actions. No person who has gained
permanent status in the classified state police service shall be
subjected to disciplinary action except for cause expressed in
writing. A classified state police officer subjected to such
disciplinary action shall have the right of appeal to the
commission. The burden of proof on appeal, as to the facts,
shall be on the appointing authority.

(B) Discrimination. No classified state police officer shall be
discriminated against because of his political or religious
beliefs, sex, or race. A classified state police officer so
discriminated against shall have the right of appeal to the
commission. The burden of proof on appeal, as to the facts,
shall be on the state police officer.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $§1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991.

47. Prohibitions Against Political Activities

Section 47. (A) Party Membership; Elections. No member of the
commission and no state police officer in the classified service
shall participate or engage in political activity; be a
candidate for nomination or election to public office except to
seek election as the classified state police officer serving on
the State Police Commission; or be a member of any national,
state, or local committee of a political party or faction; make
or solicit contributions for any political party, faction, or
candidate; or take active part in the management of the affairs
of a political party, faction, candidate, or any political
campaign, except to exercise his right as a citizen to express



his opinion privately, to serve as a commissioner or official
watcher at the polls, and to cast his vote as he desires.

(B) Contributions. No person shall solicit contributions for
political purposes from any classified state police officer or
use or attempt to use his position to punish or coerce the
political action of a classified state police officer.

(C) Political Activity Defined. As used in this Part, "political
activity" means an effort to support or oppose the election of a
candidate for political office or to support a particular
political party in an election. The support or opposition of a
candidate seeking election as the classified state police
officer member of the State Police Commission, issues involving
bonded indebtedness, tax referenda, or constitutional amendments
shall not be prohibited.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, §1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991.

§48. Rules; Investigations; Wages and Hours

Section 48. (A) Rules. (1) Powers. The commission is vested with
broad and general rulemaking and subpoena powers for the
administration and regulation of the classified state police
service, including the power to adopt rules for regulating
employment, promotion, demotion, suspension, reduction in pay,
removal, certification, qualifications, political activities,
employment conditions, compensation and disbursements to
employees, and other personnel matters and transactions; to
adopt a uniform pay and classification plan; to require an
appointing authority to institute an employee training and
safety program; and generally to accomplish the objectives and
purposes of the merit system of state police service as herein
established. It may make recommendations with respect to
employee training and safety.

(2) Veterans. The director shall accord a five-point preference
in original appointment to each person honorably discharged, or
discharged under honorable conditions from the armed forces of
the United States who served in the Vietnam Era from July 1,
1958 through May 7, 1975, except the period of July 1, 1958
through August 4, 1964, shall apply only to those who served
within the area known as the Vietnam Theater; or during a war
declared by the United States Congress; or in a peacetime
campaign or expedition for which campaign badges are authorized;
or for at least ninety days after September 11, 2001, for
reasons other than training; or during war period dates or dates
of armed conflicts as provided by state law enacted by two-
thirds of the elected members of each house of the legislature.
The director shall accord a ten-point preference in original
appointment to each honorably discharged veteran who served
either in peace or in war and who has one or more disabilities
recognized as service-connected by the Veterans Administration;



to the spouse of each veteran whose physical condition precludes
his or her appointment to the state police service; to the
unremarried widow of each deceased veteran who served in a war
period, as defined above, or in a peacetime campaign or
expedition; or to the unremarried widowed parent of any person
who died in active wartime or peacetime service or who suffered
total and permanent disability in active wartime or peacetime
service; or the divorced or separated parents of any person who
died in wartime or peacetime service or who became totally and
permanently disabled in wartime or peacetime service. However,
only one ten-point preference shall be allowed in the original
appointment to any person enumerated above. If the ten-point
preference is not used by the veteran, either because of the
veteran's physical or mental incapacity which precludes his
appointment to the classified state police service or because of
his death, the preference shall be available to his spouse,
unremarried widow, or eligible parents as defined above, in the
order specified. However, any such preference may be given only
to a person who has attained at least the minimum score required
on each test and who has received at least the minimum rating
required for eligibility.

3) Layoffs; Preference Employees. When a position in the
classified state police service is abolished, or must be vacated
because of stoppage of work from lack of funds or other causes,
preference employees (ex-members of the armed forces and their
dependents as described in this Section) whose length of service
and efficiency ratings are at least equal to those of other
competing employees shall be retained in preference to all other
competing employees. However, when any function of the state
police is transferred to, or when the state police is replaced
by, one or more other state agencies, every preference employee
in classifications and performing functions transferred, or
working in the state police, shall be transferred to the
replacing state agency or agencies for employment in a position
for which he is qualified before that state agency or agencies
appoint additional employees for such positions from eligible
lists. The appointing authority shall give the commission
written notice of any proposed lay-off within a reasonable
length of time before its effective date, and the commission
shall issue orders relating thereto which it considers necessary
to secure compliance with the rules. No rule, regulation, or
practice of the commission, of any agency or department, or of
any official of the state shall favor or discriminate against
any applicant or employee because of his membership or
nonmembership in any private organization; but this shall not
prohibit the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, office
of state police, or its successor, from contracting with an
employee organization with respect to wages, hours, grievances,
working conditions, or other conditions of employment in a



manner not inconsistent with this constitution, law, or a valid
rule or regulation of the commission.

(4) Effect. Rules adopted pursuant hereto shall have the effect
of law and be published and made available to the public. The
commission may impose penalties for violation of its rules by
demotion in or suspension or discharge from position, with
attendant loss of pay.

(B) Investigations. The commission may investigate violations of
this Part and the rules, statutes, or ordinances adopted
pursuant hereto.

(C) Wages and Hours. Any rule or determination affecting wages
or hours shall have the effect of law and become effective only
after approval by the governor and subject to appropriation of
sufficient funds by the legislature.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991; Acts 2004, No. 930, §1, approved Nov. 2, 2004,
eff. December 7, 2004.

§49. Penalties

Section 49. Willful violation of any provision of this Part
shall be a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than
five hundred dollars or by imprisonment for not more than six
months, or both.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991.

§50. Appeal

Section 50. The State Police Commission shall have the exclusive
power and authority to hear and decide all removal and
disciplinary cases, with subpoena power and power to administer
oaths. It may appoint a referee to take testimony, with subpoena
power and power to administer oaths to witnesses. The decision
of the commission shall be subject to review on any question of
law or fact upon appeal to the court of appeal wherein the
commission is located, upon application filed with the
commission within thirty calendar days after its decision
becomes final.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, $§1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991.

§51. Appropriations

Section 51. The legislature shall make adequate appropriations
to the State Police Commission to enable it to implement this
Part efficiently and effectively. The amount so appropriated
shall not be subject to veto by the governor.

Added by Acts 1990, No. 1106, §1, approved Oct. 6, 1990, eff.
Jan. 1, 1991; Acts 1997, No. 1489, §5, approved Oct. 3, 1998,
eff. Nov. 5, 1998.



