Louisiana State Police Commission
The examples of work given are intended only as illustrations of the various types of work performed in positions allocated to this job. The absence of specific statements of duties does not exclude those tasks from the position if the work is similar, related or a logical assignment of the position.
|JOB TITLE:||State Police Cadet |
Job Class Code: 07133380
FUNCTION OF WORK:
| $46,610.00 Entrance Salary; $3,884.16 per month.|
$48,008.30 upon graduation from the State Police Training Academy / POST; $4,000.69 per month.
$49,448.55 upon successful completion of Field Training Officer (FTO) Program; $4,120.71 per month.
$50,932.01 after one year; 4,244.33 per month.
To provide services to the public regarding the use of the Louisiana highway traffic system after completing a training program.
Close from State Police Sergeants and State Police Troopers acting as Training Officers.
LOCATION OF WORK:
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police; Statewide.
Differs from State Police Trooper by assignment to the State Police Academy as a trainee and assignment to a State Police Trooper who acts as a Training Officer.
EXAMPLES OF WORK:
Learns, in the Academy, to prepare reports, qualifies with firearms, learns pursuit driving and learns to enforce motor vehicle laws and state criminal code.
Applies knowledge and skills learned under the direction of a State Police Trooper in the field.
Any of the following will qualify:
1. Two (2) years of experience as a Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) certified peace officer in a full-time position, whose job duties include armed duty with the power of arrest,(jailer/correctional officer experience does not qualify under Option 1, please refer to Option 5), Revised May 1, 2008; or
2. A minimum of sixty (60) semester hours from an accredited college or university; or
3. Any two (2) year combination of Options 1 and 2 above, whereby thirty (30) semester hours will be equivalent to one (1) year of experience; or
4. Three (3) years of continuous active military duty in the United States Military, effective October 1, 2001; or
|NECESSARY SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS:||Must be able to read, write and speak the English language.|
Must possess a high school diploma or equivalency.
Must be at least eighteen (18) years old at time of application.
Must possess a valid Louisiana Driver's License at time of appointment.
Must pass physical examination, and physical fitness test.
Must submit to a drug screen and a risk assessment.
An applicant will be disqualified if there are any indictments or bills of information pending against him in which he is charged with a felony, or if he has been convicted within the past three (3) years of hit and run or driving while intoxicated. An applicant who has been convicted of a felony will be disqualified until relief from the disabilities imposed by the state and federal law is granted.
Any college hours or degree must be from a school accredited by one of the following regional accrediting bodies: the Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools; the New England Association of Schools and Colleges, Incorporated; the North Central Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools; the Northwest Association of Secondary and Higher Schools; the Southern Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools; the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.
Last Modified: 01/15/2017